Fake AC MkII

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:26 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 3:02 am 
Offline
Ow, my eye!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)
right out of nowhere despite how rediculosly careful i am i've caught a computer virus which is beong a bitch to remove

ive tried going through the task manager and ending the process tree but it always comes back D:

now im trying this method:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 733AA2lh9m

anyone got aNY ALTERNITE ANSWERS IF THIS FAILS ;_;

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:23 am 
Offline
Mew Mew's apprentice
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:15 pm
Posts: 517
Location: Scotland
That method he posted on Yahoo is exactly what I would do. The only difference being the scanning programs I would use. Spybot and AVG is what I would use to scan with in Safe Mode. I doubt you'll need to go to the next stage for this worm, safe mode should do it.

I assume you have some form of anti-virus already that failed to remove it before playing in task manager?

Another method people reccomend is this http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080220210450AAyWnpb. It might be a bit easier since safe mode scanning takes ages. Maybe try this first, then give safe mode a go.

BT


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 7:07 pm 
Offline
Ow, my eye!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)
everthing thus far has failed

my method
first yahoo answers method
seond yahoo answers method

i have so mch software installed to prevent this kinda thing >_<

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 8:42 pm 
Offline
Project's Bitch
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm
Posts: 12079
Try my usual standby.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-use-combofix


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 1:42 am 
Offline
Ow, my eye!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)
thanks kodama thats semed to have done the trick

but im experiencing an untold of amount of lag since

would that be normal???

and thanks to you BT for your suggestion ^_^

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:18 am 
Offline
Project's Bitch
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm
Posts: 12079
Worms, trojans, adware and malware can cause huge amounts of damage to Windows sometimes, it maybe worth doing a Vista repair.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Win32.brontok???
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
Ow, my eye!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)
im using XP @_@

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group