Win32.brontok???

Everything not anime or media related

Moderator: CastorTroy81

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Shad0w_Pr0phet
Ow, my eye!
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
AC Username: Legend Killer
Gender: Unknown
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)

Win32.brontok???

#1 Post by Shad0w_Pr0phet » Wed May 06, 2009 3:02 am

right out of nowhere despite how rediculosly careful i am i've caught a computer virus which is beong a bitch to remove

ive tried going through the task manager and ending the process tree but it always comes back D:

now im trying this method:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 733AA2lh9m

anyone got aNY ALTERNITE ANSWERS IF THIS FAILS ;_;
Image

User avatar
BT
Mew Mew's apprentice
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:15 pm
AC Username: BT
Gender: Male
Location: Scotland

Win32.brontok???

#2 Post by BT » Wed May 06, 2009 10:23 am

That method he posted on Yahoo is exactly what I would do. The only difference being the scanning programs I would use. Spybot and AVG is what I would use to scan with in Safe Mode. I doubt you'll need to go to the next stage for this worm, safe mode should do it.

I assume you have some form of anti-virus already that failed to remove it before playing in task manager?

Another method people reccomend is this http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080220210450AAyWnpb. It might be a bit easier since safe mode scanning takes ages. Maybe try this first, then give safe mode a go.

BT

User avatar
Shad0w_Pr0phet
Ow, my eye!
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
AC Username: Legend Killer
Gender: Unknown
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)

Win32.brontok???

#3 Post by Shad0w_Pr0phet » Wed May 06, 2009 7:07 pm

everthing thus far has failed

my method
first yahoo answers method
seond yahoo answers method

i have so mch software installed to prevent this kinda thing >_<
Image

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12085
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Win32.brontok???

#4 Post by kodama » Wed May 06, 2009 8:42 pm


User avatar
Shad0w_Pr0phet
Ow, my eye!
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
AC Username: Legend Killer
Gender: Unknown
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)

Win32.brontok???

#5 Post by Shad0w_Pr0phet » Fri May 08, 2009 1:42 am

thanks kodama thats semed to have done the trick

but im experiencing an untold of amount of lag since

would that be normal???

and thanks to you BT for your suggestion ^_^
Image

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12085
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Win32.brontok???

#6 Post by kodama » Fri May 08, 2009 10:18 am

Worms, trojans, adware and malware can cause huge amounts of damage to Windows sometimes, it maybe worth doing a Vista repair.

User avatar
Shad0w_Pr0phet
Ow, my eye!
Posts: 1122
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:45 pm
AC Username: Legend Killer
Gender: Unknown
Location: Januarius (if someone can tell me where thats from i'll be impressed)

Win32.brontok???

#7 Post by Shad0w_Pr0phet » Fri May 08, 2009 10:24 pm

im using XP @_@
Image

Post Reply