Windows 7

Everything not anime or media related

Moderator: CastorTroy81

Message
Author
User avatar
BT
Mew Mew's apprentice
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:15 pm
AC Username: BT
Gender: Male
Location: Scotland

Windows 7

#1 Post by BT » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:36 pm

Is anyone planning on playing with the beta release of this? Any thoughts, moans, Microsoft flaming?

Word on the street is it's Vista, but the way Vista should have been. I've seen people reporting of games being a lot more stable, even under this beta release. Frame rates have been increased and the memory used by the OS has been reduced. Recovery from crashes is also a lot smoother I've been told as well.

I'm sadly going to pass on playing with it since only a 32bit version is available just now and I'll want a new HDD. But I would love to try it out if these performance claims are accurate.

BT

User avatar
LeeDless
Mumbo Jumbo
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:00 am
AC Username: LeeDless
Gender: Questionable
Location: Totoro's Neverland Ranch, Plymouth.

Windows 7

#2 Post by LeeDless » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:38 pm

Another bloomin' Windows OS?
I reckon I'll be content with XP for another five years or so, then I'll probably upgrade to Vista. :P
Image
ぴぴるぴるぴぴるぴ~

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#3 Post by kodama » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:44 pm

Pffft, give Vista a miss and skip straight to 7 when it's been out about 6 months to a year and they've ironed all the bugs out. Maybe wait for the 1st service pack. :lol:

If it ran on my PC, I would be impressed. They've been tinkering with the GUI again though :roll:

User avatar
LeeDless
Mumbo Jumbo
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:00 am
AC Username: LeeDless
Gender: Questionable
Location: Totoro's Neverland Ranch, Plymouth.

Windows 7

#4 Post by LeeDless » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:48 pm

Doubt I'd be able to run it anyway, my computer only has 368 MB of RAM (I know that's a weird number).
Image
ぴぴるぴるぴぴるぴ~

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#5 Post by kodama » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:58 pm

So put more in, that's not really enough for XP anyway (XP struggles in anything below 1GB really). It's dirt cheap from [url]crucial.com/uk[/url]

User avatar
LeeDless
Mumbo Jumbo
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:00 am
AC Username: LeeDless
Gender: Questionable
Location: Totoro's Neverland Ranch, Plymouth.

Windows 7

#6 Post by LeeDless » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:05 pm

Aside from the lag on start-up it runs fine for me, even with resource hogging applications like AVG running in the background.
But this computer is almost seven years old now, it'll be better to buy a new one rather than upgrade further.
Image
ぴぴるぴるぴぴるぴ~

User avatar
CastorTroy81
Project's Bitch
Posts: 4845
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:49 pm
AC Username: gpatton81
Gender: Male
Location: Ireland

Windows 7

#7 Post by CastorTroy81 » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:13 pm

Heard the report on the radio. The main feature seems to be touch screen. How many people have touch screens in order to test that feature in the beta version? Is it on the DS? :D
Ebenezer Scrooge was a weak minded lightweight.
He broke after only a few hours of brainwashing!!!

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#8 Post by kodama » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:18 pm

I think the main feature is supposed to be stability. :lol:

I'd have thought multi touch will work on any touch pad too

User avatar
Project-2501
Project's Bitch
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:06 pm
Gender: Questionable

Windows 7

#9 Post by Project-2501 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:25 pm

2k for me :)
I am the project code named two-five-zero-one, The Puppet Master

User avatar
Project-2501
Project's Bitch
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:06 pm
Gender: Questionable

Windows 7

#10 Post by Project-2501 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:07 pm

OK, XP is officially the biggest bag of shite ever, bar nope.

The upgrade from 2k has left me with a non-booting PC. It starts to boot XP then reboots. Add to this the fact that it would not work with the USB keyboard that I've used without ANY problems with 2k....

Luckily there isn't that much installed on the media machine so rebuilding it won't take that long.....

:el:
I am the project code named two-five-zero-one, The Puppet Master

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#11 Post by kodama » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:22 pm

Should have said, never upgrade. Always reinstall.

Also if it won't boot with a USB keyboard plugged in, that's a known issue to do with distros and incorrect HALS. Try unplugging the keyboard.

User avatar
Project-2501
Project's Bitch
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:06 pm
Gender: Questionable

Windows 7

#12 Post by Project-2501 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:26 pm

I'm using a PS/2 keyboard.
I am the project code named two-five-zero-one, The Puppet Master

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#13 Post by kodama » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:38 pm

Is the installation disk you used from an OEM? Dell or HP? If so, you might need to find an MS copy.

It's to do with there being AMD files running for Intel and vice versa.

User avatar
Project-2501
Project's Bitch
Posts: 6774
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:06 pm
Gender: Questionable

Windows 7

#14 Post by Project-2501 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:54 pm

Real M$ disc.

Clean install worked, now reinstalling all my stuff. :el:
I am the project code named two-five-zero-one, The Puppet Master

User avatar
kodama
Project's Bitch
Posts: 12084
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Windows 7

#15 Post by kodama » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:58 pm

Ah, fair enough.

There is a known Service Pack issue that means you can't use USB if you have certain OEM install discs.

Enjoy. If you love 2K so much you can always revert the theme to 2k style :puke:

Post Reply